Fountains

7. Johannes-Nepomuk Fountain

In 1727/28, an already existing draw well was upgraded into a prestigious pumping well with a statue of Johannes Nepomuk. This pumping station was built by the Rastatt architect Johann Peter Ernst Rohrer, the pumping handle was created by a Straßburg bell foundry.

Saint Nepomuk was worshipped first and foremost in Bohemia, the home of the margravine Sibylla Augusta, as patron of confessional secrets, the dying, mariners and rafts men. In 1893, the fountain was restored from top to bottom and the elaborate ironwork lattice was added to it at that time.

Children discover Rastatt:

There were no cars and no bicycles in the baroque period. There was no electricity and no running water in houses. If you wanted to write a letter, a messenger carried the letter on foot to the recipient. People in the inner city got their drinking water from the Johannes Fountain, as the Rastatt residents called it. The weekly market would be held around the fountain. This was the best place for Ludwig, the town mouse, to get his supply of grains, fruit and vegetables. Noodles and potatoes were still unknown in Rastatt at that time.

If you go to see the artistically forged lattice of the Johannes Fountain, you can still recognize the fountain cover above the well shaft. The only building in Rastatt that was supplied with running water under margrave Ludwig Georg’s reign was the Palace.

Back to the overview

Johann-Nepomuk-Brunnen

Brunnen

7. Johannes-Nepomuk-Brunnen

Ein bereits bestehender Ziehbrunnen wurde 1727/28 zu einem repräsentativen Pumpbrunnen mit Statue des Johannes Nepomuk ausgebaut. Das Pumpwerk wurde vom Rastatter Baumeister Johann Peter Ernst Rohrer gefertigt, die Pumphebel bei einer Straßburger Glockengießerei in Auftrag gegeben.

Der Heilige Nepomuk wurde vor allem in Böhmen, der Heimat der Markgräfin Sibylla Augusta, als Patron des Beichtgeheimnisses, der Sterbenden, der Schiffer und Flößer verehrt. 1893 wurde der Brunnen grundlegend restauriert und das kunstvolle schmiedeeiserne Gitter angebracht.

Kinder entdecken Rastatt:

Im Barock kannte man noch kein Auto und kein Fahrrad. Es gab keinen elektrischen Strom und keine Wasserleitung in den Häusern. Wenn man einen Brief schicken wollte, brachte ein Bote diesen Brief zu Fuß zum Empfänger. Die Menschen in der Innenstadt versorgten sich am Johannes-Brunnen, wie ihn die Rastatter nannten, mit Trinkwasser. Um den Brunnen herum fand der Wochenmarkt statt. Dieser war für Ludwig, die Stadtmaus, der beste Ort, um sich mit Vorräten an Getreide, Früchten und Gemüsen zu versorgen. Nudeln und Kartoffeln jedoch kannte man zu dieser Zeit in Rastatt noch nicht.

Wenn ihr an das kunstvoll geschmiedete Gitter des Johannes-Brunnens geht, könnt ihr noch die Brunnenabdeckung über dem Brunnenschacht erkennen. Das einzige Gebäude, das unter Markgraf Ludwig Georg in Rastatt durch eine Wasserleitung versorgt wurde, war das Schloss.

Zurück zur Übersicht